4th Phase To Witness Fight Of Bigwigs


KL Report

Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp


With the Election Commission issuing the notification for the 4th phase of elections scheduled to be held in JK on December 14, the phase will decide the fate of Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, former Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, three acting ministers Ali Mohammad Sagar, Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed, Ghulam Ahmad Mir and scores of other MLAs.

According to the KNS correspondent, the polls in the 4th phase of the Five phased state elections shall be held on December 14 in 18 out if the 87 assembly segments of Jammu and Kashmir.

This phase is being considered as an important one because two big wigs of state’s political landscape NC president and chief minister Omar Abdullah and PDP president Mufti Mohammad Sayeed shall contest the polls during this phase.

Reports also maintained that besides the PDP patron Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, scores of other mainstream politicians filed their nomination papers from different assembly segments on Wednesday. Mufti filed his papers for South Kashmir’s Anantnag segment while as the Arshid Rasool Kar son of the Congress veteran Ghulam Rasool Kar filed papers as an independent candidate from Sopore.

Former police officer Raja Aijaz Ali has filed nomination paper as a PDP candidate from Uri while as Imran Raza Ansari has filed his papers from Pattan assembly segment of north Kashmir. NC candidate Ghulam Hassan Rahi has filed his papers from Baramulla assembly constituency. Reports informed that the Election Commission has issued notification for the 4th phase of polls in Jammu and Kashmir during which elections will be conducted in 18 assembly segments of the state including the districts of Islamabad (Anantnag), Srinagar, Shopian and Samba.

The constituencies going to polls are Hazratbal, Zadibal, Idgah, Khanyar, Habbakadal, Amirakadal, Sonawar and Batamaloo in Srinagar District, Anantnag, Doru, Kokernag, Shangus, Bijbehara and Pahalgam in Anantnag District, Shopian and Wachi in Shopian District and Samba (SC) and Vijaypur in Samba district.

As per the notification, November 26 (Wednesday) will be the last date for filing of nominations, scrutiny of the papers will be held on November 27 (Thursday) and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 29, 2014 (Saturday).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here