Altaf Bukhari unanimously elected President of his new party


Former Finance Minister of Jammu and Kashmir, Syed Mohammad Altaf Bukhari, was on Saturday unanimously elected as the President by the members of his new political party scheduled to be launched here on Sunday afternoon.

The ex-PDP minister’s name for the post of President was proposed by former minister Ghulam Hassan Mir and was seconded by former legislator and Chief Secretary Vijay Bakaya and other ex-legislators.

The meeting over dinner took place at the residence of Altaf Bukhari at Sheikhbagh Lal Chowk on Saturday evening.

All the participants in the meeting later unanimously reposed their support and elected Bukhari as their President. The formal launch of the party –tipped to be named as Jammu and Kashmir Apni Party — will be held on Sunday afternoon.

The political leaders who participated in the meeting included Mohammad Dilawar Mir, Usman Majeed, Aijaz Ahmad Khan, Abdul Majeed Padder, Mohammad Ashraf Mir, Javed Beig, Rafi Mir, Zaffar Manhas, Abdul Rahim Rather, Raja Manzoor, Kamal Arora, Yawar Mir, Noor Mohammed Sheikh, Javed Mirchal, Shoaib Lone, Choudhary Qamar, Syed Asghar Ali, Faqeer Mohammad, Muntazir Mohouddin, G.M. Bhawan, Hilal Ahmad Shah, Neilangan Arora, Vikram Malhotra, Mudasir Amin, Mohammad Ashraf Dar, Samiullah, Kavel Singh, Jagmohan Singh Raina, Manjeet Singh, Irfan Naqeeb and Farooq Andrabi, among other prominent leaders from across Jammu and Kashmir.

Almost all the leaders addressed the meeting and deliberated on the prevailing socio-economic and political situation which has emerged after the abrogation of Article 370 in August last year.

In January, a Bukhari-led delegation had presented a memorandum to Jammu and Kashmir Lieutenant Governor Girish Chandra Murmu listing measures for the revival of political activities in Jammu and Kashmir.(IANS)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here