Amarnath Yatra 2017: Gov Vohra discusses security with all the agencies involved

SRINAGAR: Governor N N Vohra, Chairman of Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board, chaired a meeting of senior officers of the State Administration, Army, paramilitary forces and intelligence agencies at the Raj Bhavan to review the action taken on the decisions arrived at in the first Security Review Meeting held on May 15, 2017 and, besides, to take stock of the development which had taken place since then, to be fully prepared regarding the security arrangements for the Shri Amarnathji Yatra which is commencing on 29th June, 2017.

Governor stressed the need for all concerned agencies to keep a sustained close watch and maintain seamless co-ordination to ensure the security of the forthcoming Yatra.

The meeting undertook an extensive review of all important issues relating to the obtaining security environment in the State; preparedness for meeting any unforeseen situation arising during the Yatra; functioning of the Joint Control Rooms at every Yatra Camp; linking up Joint Control Rooms with the MET Department and the District Disaster Management Units; deployment of Mountain Rescue Teams (MRTs) of the State Police along with Rescue Teams of various Security Forces at identified locations on both the Yatra routes; deployment of well equipped Fire Fighting teams at pre-determined points etc.

Governor directed DGP, J&K to strictly enforce an effective traffic regulation mechanism from Lakhanpur Check Post onwards to Chandanwari and Baltal; to keep track of all Yatra related vehicular movements, particularly for ensuring the unhindered movement of registered Yatris to the Holy Cave. He advised the Chief Secretary and GoC XV Corps to issue clear directions to PWD and BRO, respectively, for ensuring that the road from Jammu to Srinagar, Khanabal to Pahalgam and Srinagar to Baltal is maintained in proper condition for the smooth movement of the pilgrimage.

The meeting was attended by B.B. Vyas, Chief Secretary; Dr. S.P. Vaid, Director General of Police, J&K; Lt. Gen. J.S. Sandhu, GOC, Hqrs. 15 Corps;  Umang Narula, Principal Secretary to the Governor and Chief Executive Officer, Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board; R.K Goyal, Principal Secretary Home; S.N. Shrivastava Spl. DG CRPF; Maj. Gen. B.S. Raju, GOC, Hqrs, Victor Force; Baseer Ahmed Khan, Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir;  Zulfiqar Hassan, IG CRPF (Ops), Kashmir;  A.G. Mir, IGP, CID; Ms. Sonali Mishra, IG BSF, Kashmir; Ravi Deep Singh Sahi, IG CRPF, Srinagar;  Air Commodore V.S. Choudhary, Air Officer Commanding, Air Force Station, Srinagar; Sh. Muneer Khan, Inspector General of Police, Kashmir; senior most officers of the Central Intelligence Agencies and Mr. Jitendra K. Singh, Additional Chief Executive Officer, Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here