AMK Announces Annual Awards


KL Report

Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp


Adbee Markaz Kamraz (AMK) has announced its prestigious annual awards, which are given to people from different walks of life for their contributions in promotion of Kashmiri language and literature. The awardees were selected by a jury comprising eminent poets, writers, critics and other litterateurs of the State.

In the monthly meeting of its Executive held in Town Hall Bandipore, the jury announced the names of awardees which will be given away in the 34th annual two-day “Kashir Conference” of the AMK to be held on August 24-25. Meanwhile, the AMK Executive meeting decided to increase the amount of cash awards this year.

Noted litterateur and broadcaster, Farooq Nazki has been conferred this year’s “Sharaf-e-Kamraz” award for his contribution towards Kashmiri literature, through his writings as well as the broadcast media.

“Kashmir Writers’ Forum” Sopore bagged the “Sharaf-e-Kamraz” award in the category of literary organisations, for its efforts on ground to reach out to poets and writers of Kashmiri language in Sopore and adjoining areas of Rafiabad. “Sharaf-e-Kamraz” carries cash prize, memento and citation for the each awardee.

This year’s “Khilat-e-Hanfi Sopori” award will be conferred to Mirwaiz Molvi Umar Farooq for his sermons in Kashmiri language from the august religious platform of Jamia Masjid Srinagar, and as a religious leader for his keenness toward the protection of Kashmiri language and identity.

In the media category of “Khilat-e-Hanfi Sopori” award, E Tv Urdu has been selected for its daily Urdu news programme titled “ETv Urdu Kashmir.” The jury observed that “ETv Urdu Kashmir” is providing generous space for the literary and cultural activities in Kashmir which help in promotion and preservation of Kashmiri language and literature.

Deputy Commissioner Srinagar Farooq Ahmad Shah has been conferred this year’s “Khilat-e-Hanfi Sopori” award in the administration category for his positive role in the administration for the promotion of Kashmiri language and literature. The award carries cash prize, shawl, citation and memento to each awardee. This award will be given in collaboration with Majlis-un-Nissa Sopore.

The “Mohi-u-din Hajni Gold Medal,” which is given to a student who tops the MA Kashmiri examination of Kashmir University, in collaboration with prominent Kashmiri daily newspaper “Sangarmal” has been bagged this year by Gazala Amin of Pampore.

Besides other members of AMK Executive, the meeting was attended by AMK Patron Prof Rasheed Nazki, President Dr Aziz Hajni, Vice-President Atiqa Bano, General Secretary Dr Shujaat Bukhari, Muhammad Ahsan Ahsan, Majeed Majazi, Abdul Ahad Hajni and Ranjoor Tilgami.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here