AMU’s Kashmir Woman Scientist Slated For Award


SRINAGAR: Kashmir-born Aligarh Muslim University academic, Professor Farukh Arjmand associated with the University’s Department of Chemistry has been selected for the ‘Outstanding Researchers Award-2022’.

Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp
Professor Farukh Arjmand

Prof Arjmand will receive the award for her outstanding contribution to chemistry during the Sir Syed Day Commemorative meeting on today, said a press release from the university.

She will share the award with Dr Hifzur Rahman Siddique (Department of Zoology) who was also nominated for ‘Outstanding Researchers Award-2022’. They will also receive a cash prize of Rs 50, 000 each.

Prof Arjmand has an experience of 30 years in the research of medicinal inorganic chemistry. She has visited many countries, including China, USA and Thailand for her academic research pursuits.

Prof Arjmand’s work in the fields of bioinorganic chemistry, medicinal inorganic chemistry, synthesis and characterization of antitumor metallodrugs opens up a range of possibilities from drug development to materials to diagnostics—and her impeccability as a scientist, deserving to stand out from the crowd is reflected in over 160 publications, pertinent to her specialization in peer-reviewed journals.

She has 4717 citations to her credit with h-index 37 and i10-index 107 and two distinctive patents on metallic antitumor drug entities.

Prof Arjmand has used her exceptional research in six major research projects as Principal Investigator on the design of metal-based drug candidates awarded by UGC, CSIR, and DBT, Government of India.

She also has joint research collaborations with national and international research institutes such as IIT Kharagpur; IICT Hyderabad; ACTREC Mumbai; USTC, China; Institute de Physique de Rennes, France and The Ohio State University, USA.

Prof Arjmand has received many prestigious awards, Young Scientist, ICC., Shikha Ratan award, IFSI., Distinguished Women Scientist Award 2016, ISCB in 2017 and CRSI Bronze Medal 2019, Chemical Research Society of India,(CRSI) and was chosen a prestigious CRSI council member in 2020 for the period of three years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here