Assembly Resumes to Pay Homage to Deceased Lawmakers



As many as six lawmakers have passed away since state assembly was in session in Srinagar last October. The assembly resumed Thursday morning to pay tributes to all of them, including former chief minister Mufti Sayeed who died earlier this year.

Apart from Mufti, those who died include former ministers Choudhary Lal Mohammad Sabir, Mohammad Khalil Jawahar, Dr Romesh Chander Sharma and lawmakers Sehdev Singh and Mohammad Maqbool Mohjoo.

The house is also paying tributes to former governor Lt Gen K V Krishna Rao who was responsible for the 1996 elections that led to the return of Dr Farooq Abdullah in power.

Speaker Kavinder Gupta set the ball rolling by detailing the life sketches and their contributions in politics.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here