Assembly: Term of state commission for backward classes extended by 5 yrs


The Legislative Assembly Saturday passed a Bill to amend the Jammu and Kashmir State Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1997 aimed at extending the term of the chairperson and members of the Commission for five years.

The Bill was introduced by the Minister for Social Welfare, Sajad Gani Lone in the House.

Sajad Gani Lone

Explaining the objectives and reasons to introduce the amendment Bill, the Minister said that it has been observed that upon expiry of the term of Chairman and Members, the Commission remains non-functional for a considerable time. “It is difficult to find suitable person to be nominated as Chairman/Members of the Commission, owing to the fact that the said person, should be well versed with the knowledge of the Castes/Backward class formations in J&K State,” he said and added that in order to overcome this difficulty, it was felt appropriate to extend the term of the Members and Chairman of the State Commission for Backward Classes to 5 years.

Several Legislators including Ravinder Raina, Jewan Lal, G M Saroori, Usman Abdul Majid, Mubarak Gul, Vikar Rasool Wani, R S Pathania, Shah Mohammad Tantray, Yawar Ahmad Mir, Altaf Ahmad Wani, Shakhti Raj Parihar, Mohammad Shafi Uri, Javaid Hassan Beigh and Satpaul Sharma supported the Bill.

The bill was later passed by voice vote.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here