KL Report


In the backdrop of the Friday evening attack on two BJP candidates in Jammu region, district authorities have registered two separate FIRs against a Minister and Independent Candidate for poll code violation and indulging in violence.

“FIR No 187/14 u/s 147, 148, 149, 353, 323, 336 and 307 RPC registered at Billawar Police Station against Minister of State Manohar Lal Sharma for leading a mob attacking BJP candidate Niramal Singh and indulging in other unlawful activities,” the reports said.

“The mob also manhandled Dy SP Hq Kathua and SHO Billawar. Following the incident district election officer ordered immediate action.”

The reports added that another FIR under No. 87/114 has been lodged at Police Station Basohli against independent candidate Rajinder Singh and other unknown persons u/s 341, 147 and 427 RPC.

Quoting District Election Officer Dr Shahid Iqbal Choudhary, the reports added that DEO has issued strict directions to police for immediate action against all persons indulging in poll violence and ensuring free and fair polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here