City people shrug off admin creation

KL Report


At a time when celebrations and protests are going on across Kashmir over the creation of new administrative units, people in Srinagar City have showed a cold response towards the development.

Pertinently, Srinagar East and West have been granted Sub Divisions while Srinagar South (by reorganizing & renaming existing South Srinagar as Srinagar Central), Eidgah, Khanyar, Pantha Chowk, Chanpora/ Natipora have been elevated as Tehsils. Batmaloo, Kothibagh and Sanatnagar have been granted.

Srinagar North, Srinagar South, Srinagar Central, Harwan and Khanmoh have been made CD Blocks while Batmaloo, Kothibagh, Sanatnagar, Zainkote, Soura, Zadibal, Safa kadal, HMT, Rambagh/Solina, Gogjibagh and Buchwara have been given Nayabats.

No drum beating and dancing have been reported from any part of Srinagar City over the creation of new units. “It makes no difference to us and as a matter of fact most of the people don’t even know that their area has been made CD Block,” one of the shopkeepers of Sanatnagar told CNS adding there are lot more serious issues like the non-availability of electricity which government needs to focus on.

A resident of Eidgah Javid Ahmed said that they never faced any difficulty even when Eidgah was not a tehsil. “It is not an issue for us and there is no fun to celebrate over it,” he said.

“What is the fun of the giving block to Batamaloo when there is no electricity, water and good roads. “Whole area often reels under darkness and this is point of concern for us,” Abdul Ahad from Firdous Abad Batamaloo said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here