DM Pulwama declares five more villages as red zones


Five more villages in Pulwama district were declared red zones and surrounding villages buffer zones to prevent the spread of Coronavirus after two persons from these villages were declared COVID positive.

As there is every likelihood of mass contact by these persons in their native village  District  Authorities today declared Drabgam Bala, Drabgam Payeen, Shairbagh, Dardpora and Gori-check villages of Tehsil Rajpora Red zones while  Checki Badri Nath, Pachar , Qasba Yaar along with Tailwani Check were declared buffer zones to break the further transmission chain of Covid-19.

District Authorities said that it has become imperative to initiate restrictive measures under section 144 CrPC for immediate prevention of danger to human life, health and safety in view of two positive cases reported from Drabgam. .

Invoking prohibitory orders under Epidemic Diseases Act 1897, Section 144 of the CrPC and Disaster Management Act, 2005,  there would be no inward and outward movement of any person from the villages declared  Red zone and the people have to stay indoors to ensure complete lockdown.

District Authorities directed the law enforcing agencies to implement the prohibitory orders in letter and spirit to save human lives and warned of strict action against the violators of the order under section 188 IPC and other relevant provisions of Epidemic Disease Act 1897 and the Disaster Management Act 2005.

Authorities added that door to door survey has been started by Village Surveillance and Containment Committees and all the contacts are being traced and quarantined accordingly.

District Authorities directed the officials concerned to ensure supply of essential commodities as per laid down protocols in the villages falling in Red Zones and Buffer Zones.

Earlier, 17 village including Khaigam, Sangerwani, Abhama, Rohmoo, Gusso and Frasipora of Tehsil Rajpora and Gudoora, Chandgam, Pinglena and Parigam of Tehsil Pulwama, Reshipora,Chirat, Monviji, Banderpora Chirat, Wandakpora, Kakapora  Town of Tehsil Kakapora, Sambora, AlochciBagh and Hatwari of Tehsil Pampore, a portion of IGC Lassipora were declared Red Zones and are under restrictions.

The people have been advised to abide by the orders as any violation will invoke section 269 IPC (unlawfully or negligently doing something which is likely to spread infection of any dangerous disease to life) , section 270 IPC ( malignant act likely to spread infection of dangerous disease to life), section 271 IPC (knowingly disobeying any quarantine rule) and section 188 IPC ( for disobeying the Government orders).

To ensure coordination joint control rooms, with dedicated nodal officers have been established and people from Red zone areas have been asked to contact   24*7 COVID Control Room (01933240412, 01933240912) for COVID-19 queries and emergencies.

Moreover, People hailing from the Red zone villages have been asked to contact round the clock (24*7) District Emergency Control room in case of any grievance regarding the essential services and other related issues on Landline No 01933- 240354.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here