Dr Farooq Abdullah chairs party’s ‘Working Committee Meet’


National Conference President and Member of Parliament for Srinagar, Dr. Farooq Abdullah on Saturday chaired Party’s Working Committee meeting at ‘Nawa-e-Subha’ Complex in Srinagar.

In the meeting party Working President Mr Omar Abdullah, General Secretary Haji Ali Mohammad Sagar, Additional General Secretary Dr Sheikh Mustafa Kamal, Provincial Presidents Nasir Aslam Wani, Devendra Singh Rana and other senior leaders from all the three regions of the state were present.

While taking stock of the preparations for upcoming delegate session at Sher e Kashmir Cricket Stadium on Sunday, Dr Farooq Abdullah said, “The party was based on the bedrock of public service and selfless struggle. It is this ethos that has guided the party over the past almost eight decades and we should continue to pass on and protect this legacy. Politics is the most effective tool to bring about a change for the better – to improve the lives of our people and to resolve issues.”

Dr Farooq reiterated the party’s resolve of protecting the states special status and ensuring that all the three regions of the state are united against the forces inimical to peace, dignity and prosperity of the state.

The meeting unanimously cleared all the three resolutions slated to be passed in the delegate session. The three resolutions are related to political, economic and present situation of the state.

Meanwhile, National Conference President Dr. Farooq Abdullah and Working President Omar Abdullah on Saturday  expressed profound grief and sorrow over the demise of veteran National Conference leader and Former Dy Speaker Molvi Abdul Rashid. 

Both leaders paid glowing tributes to the departed leader and extended their heartfelt condolences to the bereaved family. Highlighting Moulvi Abdul Rashid’s exemplary contributions in serving the people of the state Dr Farooq Abdullah said, “He had an illustrious political career and was known for his philanthropic work in the area.”

“His contribution to the party would be remembered for all times to come,” Omar Abdullah said.

Both leaders prayed for peace to the departed soul.

National Conference General Secretary Haji Ali Muhammad Sagar, Additional General Secretary Dr. Sheikh Mustafa Kamal, Vice President Chaudhary Muhammad Ramzan, Provincial President Kashmir Nasir Aslam Wani, Provincial President Jammu Devendra Singh Rana, Party Treasurer Shammi Oberoi, senior leaders Mubarak Gul, Abdul Rahim Rather, Muhammad Shafi Uri, Sharif-ud-din Shariq, Muhammad Akbar Lone, Peerzada Gh Ahmad Shah, Sakina Itoo, Dr Bashir Veeri, Sajjad Shaheen, Provincial Spokesperson Imran Nabi Dar besides party legislators and senior office bearers also expressed grief over the death of veteran leader and extended their heartfelt condolences to the bereaved family.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here