Dr Farooq pitches for elections, says there is no substitute to elected government


Jammu and Kashmir National Conference on Thursday received former Ministers and senior PDP leaders Syed Basharat Bukhari and Pir Muhammad Hussain into the party fold.

Former minister and senior PDP leader Basharat Bukhari formally join National conference in presence of Chief Patron of NC Dr Farooq Abdullah and vice president Omar Abdullah on December 19, 2018. KL Image by Bilal Bahadur

Hoping that their inclusion will help salvage people from the current tumultuous times, Party President Dr Farooq Abdullah welcomed the new entrants and said that the inclusion of new members into the party fold will auger well for the people of the state. “We have to show steadfastness and maintain unity among us. We have to give a befitting reply to those forces which are inimical to the special status of the state,” he said.

Dr Farooq said that governor’s rule is an autocratic rule and that there is no substitution to a popularly elected government. “National conference has been impressing on the incumbent administration to hold elections as soon as possible. We believe that an elected government would be able to deliver in a better way,” he said.

On the occasion party president expressed grief over the recent civilian killings in Pulwama. “It is unfortunate that to see civilian killings become a norm. The forces should have used less lethal weapons to quell the protests,” he said adding, “Violence will beget violence, the propensity of the situation calls for a reconciliation and rapprochement policy,”

Dr Farooq asserted that forces which have been contriving to divide the people of the state will tend to use money power to disembark us from the path of unity. “The need of the hour is to maintain unity so that we are able to put up a strong front for the cause of state and our people,” he said

Party Vice President Omar Abdullah who was present on the occasion welcomed the new entrants into the party fold hoping that the new entrants will work for making party strong at grass root levels.

Among other party functionaries Haji Ali Muhammad Sagar, Nasir Aslam Wani, Muhammad Akbar lone, Chowdhary Muhammad Ramzan, Shameema Firdous, Sakina Itoo, Dr Bashir Veeri, Altaf kaloo, Javaid Dar, Qaisar Jamsheed Lone, Mohammad Yaqoob Wani, Riyaz khan, Tanvir Sadiq, Mushtaq Guru, Jehangir Wani were also present on the occasion.

The new entrants’ Syed Basharat Bukhari and Pir Muhammad Hussain pledged that they will hold the flag of National Conference aloof and work to make the party strong at grassroots.   The new entrants vowed to cherish the ideals of Sher-e-Kashmir Sheikh Muhammad Abdullah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here