Dr Muheet is new president ‘Kashmir University Teachers Association’


Kashmir University Teachers’ Association (KUTA) elected its new Executive Committee on, Wednesday, September 27, 2017 for a period of two years.

A KUTA spokesperson said that Dr Muheet Ahmed Butt of the Department of Computer Sciences was elected as its new president, whereas Prof Altaf Hussain Pandith of the Department of Chemistry was elected as its Vice-President and Dr Mohammad Ishaq Geer of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences was elected as its General Secretary.

Other Executive Members elected include Dr Muhammad Meraj Ahmad (Sanskrit), Dr Muhammad Yaqub Bhat (Botany), Dr Tabasum Firdous (CCAS), Prof Aadil Amin Kak (Linguistics), Sajad Mohammed Khan (Computer Sciences), Dr Gh Muhammad Bhat (Institute of Foreign Languages), Dr Jahangir Iqbal Tantray (Persian), Dr Tasleema Jan (Education), Dr Altaf Ahmad Ganie (Kashmiri) and Dr Afaq Aziz Yatoo of the Centre of Central Asian Studies.

A total number of 272 votes were polled from the main campus Hazratbal as well as from the North and South Campus and the satellite campuses of Leh and Kargil. Among the office bearers Dr Muheet secured 162 votes, Dr Altaf Hussain Pandith bagged 161 votes, Dr MI Geer secured 202 votes and Dr Waseem Bari got 90 votes.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here