SRINAGAR: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday announced the eagerly awaited schedule for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, along with the dates for Assembly elections in select states.

The voting will begin from April 19 and result will be declared on June 4, 2024, said ECI. The term of 17th Lok Sabha assembly will expire on June 16, 2024, said chief election commissioner Rajiv Kumar.

The elections will be held in seven phases. The first phase to be held on April 19, second phase on April 26, third phase on May 7, fourth phase on May 13, fifth phase on May 20, sixth phase on May 25 and the seventh phase on June 1, 2024.

“We have 97 crore registered voters, over 10.5 lakh polling stations manned by 1.5 crore personnel, 55 lakh EVMs, ” the CEC said.

He further said that the electoral roll includes 82 lakh voters of over 85 years of age and 2.18 lakh centenarians. The election commission announced that the senior citizen above the age of 85 and persons with disability (PwD) voters with 40 per cent benchmark disability can vote from home.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here