Elections to 6 MLC seats on April 17


Chief Electoral Officer Shantmanu on Thursday held a meeting with the officers of Legislative Assembly Secretariat here to discuss the arrangements to be put in place for the smooth conduct of Biennial elections to elect the Members of Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Council (MLCs).

The elections for 6 seats of the Upper House are to be held on April 17, 2017. The voting hours have been fixed from 9:00AM to 4:00 PM. The counting will be held on the same day. The formal notification in this regard would be issued on 22 March 2017.

As many as 87 elected and 2 nominated Members of Legislative Assembly (MLA) will take part in polling through open ballot.

Secretary, J&K Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly will be Returning Officer, while as Deputy Secretary Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly will be Assistant Returning Officer for the conduct of elections.

Pertinent to mention that the 6 seats of Legislative Council shall fall vacant on April 19, 2017 due to retirement of Jehangir Hussain Mir, Jugal Kishore, Dr Bashir Ahmad Shah Veeri, Master Noor Hussain, S Dharambir Singh Oberoi ( deceased) and Yasir Reshi.

Secretary, Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly Mr Mohammad Ramzan, besides other senior officers of State Election Department and Legislative Assembly were present in the meeting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here