SRINAGAR: Farooq Fayaz and Veena Gupta have been awarded Sahitya Akademi Award-2022 for their literary creations in Kashmiri and Dogri languages respectively while
Shabnam Tilgami and Nirmal Vinod were awarded Sahitya Akademi Prize for translations.
The awards were announced today, the Daily Excelsior reported.
Veena Gupta has been awarded in Play/Dramas category while Farooq Fayaz was awarded in the Literary Criticism category.
Nirmal Vinod was awarded for the translation of Dehra Ch Ajj Bi Ugade N Saarhe Boohte in Dogri while Shabnam Tilgami was awarded for translating Gitanjali.
The original name of the book translated by Nirmal Vinod was ‘Our Trees Still Grow in Dehra’ (Short Stories) while Shabnam Tilgami’s original books which he translated were Gitanjali (Poetry), Bengali.
Meanwhile, Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha has congratulated all four writers for the awards.
“Heartiest congratulations to eminent writers Veena Gupta & Farooq Fayaz on winning Sahitya Akademi Award-2022 for their literary creations in Dogri and Kashmiri languages. I also congratulate Nirmal Vinod and Shabnam Tilgami for Sahitya Akademi Prize for translation,” a tweet by the Office of LG J&K said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here