Fast Track

Srinagar after refueling from Kishtwar. Or as Parmar says “Now the idea being discussed is that they should instead go to Drass and then take the newly laid track to Gurez and then to Bandipore,”.This route is not final though as it includes a high altitude pass where snow needs to be cleared.”

Compared to last year, this is huge. Against expectation of 50 teams only 48 could participate. The title was bagged by Delhi based Guarav Chiripaul as Chandigarh based Jagmeet Gill finished second and Taufiq was at third slot.

“Problem for us was to manage sheltering the teams in Srinagar where there is no space because the numbers are amazingly huge,” Parmar said. “It is 100 teams with at least two individuals each, 50 service teams and 45 official teams – managing that much of accommodation especially when it is yatra time is not so easy in Srinagar.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here