Five political leaders released after 148 days of detention


The Jammu and Kashmir administration on Monday released five political leaders, who were detained at MLA Hostel here for the last almost five months.

Sources said that PDP leaders, Zahoor Mir, Yasir Reshi and Bashir Mir, National Conference leader and former MLA Ganderbal Ishfaq Jabbar and another NC leader Dr Ghulam Nabi Bhat were among those who were released.

Additional Director General Police Law and Order and Security, Muneer Khan while confirming the release of five leaders told news agency KNS that the government will take the decision to release the rest of the leaders at an “appropriate time.”

Over 25 political leaders, including Peoples Conference chief Sajjad Lone, NC leaders Ali Mohammad Sagar and Mubarak Gul, PDP leaders Nizam-ud-Din Bhat, Sartaj Madni, Nayeem Akhtar, Peer Mansoor and Khurshid Alam and former IAS officer turned politician Dr Shah Faesal, are still detained at MLA Hostel.

Three former chief ministers, including Dr Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti are also undergoing detention since August 5 when the Center abrogated the special status of Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370.

While welcoming the decision to release five leaders, PDP patron and former deputy Chief Minister Muzaffar Hussain Beigh said, “It was our consistent demand to release all the political detainees without any delay. I am hopeful that those who are still under detention are release soon.”

He also demanded immediate restoration of internet services in Kashmir. “It is causing huge losses to business community and students,” Beigh added.

Democratic party (Nationalist) DPN Chairman and former Agriculture Minister Ghulam Hassan Mir has also welcomed the decision to release the political leaders. (KNS)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here