Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp

The government on Sunday have imposed restrictions in Khanyar, Rainawari, Nowhatta, Safakadal, MR Gunj, Maisuma and Kralkhud police stations of the district on 21 January to prevent any protests on the 28th anniversary of Gawkadal massacre.

All shops and business establishments are closed in the civil lines areas. Authorities have erected barricades at several places to prevent any protests.

The call for the shutdown was given by the Joint Resistance Leaders comprising Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik.

On January 21, 1990, CRPF personnel had massacred 52 civilians in Gawkadal area when they were protesting against the highhandedness of government forces in Chota Bazar area.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here