Geelani expresses anguish over plight of detainees lodged in different jails


Hurriyat (G) Chairman, Syed Ali Geelani on Friday expressed deep anguish over the plight of detainees languishing in different jails. “Despite court orders, they are not being released,” Geelani, in a statement today, said.

The spokesman said even those detained by British authorities during “Independence movement of India”, the detainees were logged in jails adjacent to their home localities and citing the treatment meted out to these detainees, Geelani said that then President of Indian National Congress was, even allowed to keep his secretary with him while in detention.

Geelani said that those detained in Rajasthan, UP, West Bengal ,Tihar and other jails of far-flung areas in India, are facing immense agonies and difficulties ,saying that the vengeful treatment to which they are subjected  during detention includes off and on solitary confinement, manhandling of detainees posing a grave threat to their lives, denying meeting with their families, unavailability of medicines and medical care and substandard quality of food .

He said that even the visitors and relatives who come to see them in jail are also intentionally harassed and tormented by the authorities. All this is done in complete violation of the jail manual which lays emphasis on the honour and dignity of prisoners, the spokesman added.

Those lodged in different jails are not criminals but political prisoners who are being subject to detention for their political convictions and outlook and while blaming authorities, Geelani added that their detention are being prolonged on one pretext or the other.

Syed Ali Geelani in his appeal to people asked to take care of families of the prisoners and provide every possible support to affected families and those detained during the ongoing freedom movement.

Geelani said that Kashmiri political prisoners including  Shabir Ahmad Shah, Masarat Aalam Bhat, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Ayaz Akbar, Raja Meraj-u-Din Kalwal, Peer Saif-ullah, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Shahid-ul-Islam, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Kamran Yusuf, Shahid Yousuf, Javed Ahmad Bhat, Zahoor Ahmad Watali,  Mohammad Aslam Wani, Dr Shafi Shariati, Dr Mohammad Qasim, Gh Qadir Bhat, Manzoor Ahmad , Tariq Ahmad, Meer Hafiz Ullah,  Dr Gh Mohamad Bhat, Muzafar Ahmad Dar, Mohammad Yusuf Mir, Mohammad Yusuf Falahi, Gh Mohamad Khan Sopori, Ameer Hamza, Mohd Rafiq Ganai, Ab Ahad Parah, Shakil Ahmad, Raies Ahmad Mir, Ab  Samad Inqilabi, Mohammad Assad Ullah Parey, Hakim Showkat, Molana Sarjan Barkati, Mohammad Ramzan Khan and hundreds of other are ’Prisoners of Conscience’ and we pay our salute for their commitment .

Meanwhile on a proposed programme of Joint Resistance Leaders, All Parties Hurriyat Conference leaders Hakeem Abdul Rashid, Syed Bashir Indrabi, Syed Mohammad Shafi, Umar Aadil Dar, Rameez Raja, Bilal Ahmad Sidique, Molvi Bashir Irfani, Syed Imtiyaz Haider, Syed Imtiyaz Shah, Khawaja Firdous, Mohammad Yaseen Ataiee, Masooda Ji, Showkat Ahmad Khan, Sajad Ahmad Lone, Jan Mohammad Najar, Zahoor Ahmad Beigh, Abdul Ahad and Jasif Raja held a protest at Hyderpora against the plight of detainees languishing in different jails in and outside state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here