Gul Conferred Samta Award By GGF

KL Report


The Speaker Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly Mubarak Gul was conferred Samta Award 2013 by the Gandhi Global Family (GGF) for his active contribution in spreading Gandhian Philosophy and social activism.

The function was organized in the Central hall of J&K Legislature as a part of the week long programme to mark the 106th Birth Anniversary of Babu Jagjivan Ram.

Paying rich tributes to Babu Jagjivan Ram,  Mr Gul said that Babuji has left  an indelible  mark in the history of the country as a  fervent champion of the cause of backward  and marginalized stratum of the society. He stressed on adopting Babu ji’s ideology towards developing an egalitarian society.

Underlining need to work together for strengthening our democratic and social fabric, the Speaker said that unity and communal harmony are the key to prosperity and development.

The Speaker lauded the role of GGF in propagating Gandhian philosophy and working for the development of all sections of society. He asked the members to make the citizens aware about the power of vote and motivate them to exercise their power in judicious manner.

Gul said that various awareness programmes and interactive sessions with the civil society and youth will be held in the central hall of the Legislative Complex to minimize the distance of the people from this prime institution of democracy, adding that discussions are vital for resolving issues and redressal of grievances. He said civil society has a pivotal role to play in promoting peace and development of the State.

The Speaker also said that memberships for the well equipped libraries of the legislative complexes both in Srinagar and Jammu will be extended to the general public.

Earlier, in welcome address,  S.P. Varma threw light on the contribution of Babu Jagjivan Ram. He also appreciated Gul for his contribution as a member of GGF. Message of Lok Sabha, Speaker, Meira Kumar was also read out on the occasion.

A souvenir was also presented to Mohammad Ramzan Secretary J&K  Legislative Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here