President’s police medals, Sher-i-Kashmir police medals announced


Ministry of Home Affairs, GoI on Friday announced Medals of different categories on the eve of 70th Republic Day.

SSP Zubair Khan

An official statement said that forty-three Jammu and Kashmir Police personnel are among the awardees of President’s Police Medal for distinguished service, meritorious service and police medal for gallantry.

“This includes 25 police medal for gallantry, one President’s police medal for distinguished services and 17 Police medal for meritorious services,” the statement said.

“One hundred fifty-three Personnel of J&K Police have been awarded Sher-i-Kashmir Police Medal for Meritorious Service and Sher-i-Kashmir police medal for gallantry on the occasion of Republic Day,” it said.

“One hundred forty-seven Police personnel including 32 Gazetted and 115 Non-Gazetted have been awarded Sher-i-Kashmir Police Medal for Gallantry. Six officers have been awarded Sher-i-Kashmir Police Medal for Meritorious Service,” it added.

“Director General of Police, Dilbag Singh has congratulated the awardees and their families. In his message, he has said that the awards show the exemplary courage and dedication shown by police personnel in different fields to the nation. He has wished them more success and recognition in future,” said the statement.

“President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Services have been awarded to SP Sham Lal Thakur while  Police Medal for Meritorious Service have been awarded to SSP Zubair Ahmad Khan, DDP Parshotam Lal, SSP Shailender Singh, SSP Mumtaz Ahmed,  SSP Rashmi Wazir, SSP Sheikh Junaid Mahmood, SSP Roop Raj, DySP Varinder Kumar, DySP Syed Mohi-u-Din Andrabi, Inspr (M) Nazir Ahmad Yatoo, ASI Bhikam Chand, ASI Reyaz Ahmad Shah, HC Sunil Jalla, HC Farooq Ahmad Mir,  HC Nisar Ahmad Bhat, HC Darshan Lal and  SgCt Syed Muzamil Shabir,” it said.

“Those who have been awarded with Sher-i- Kashmir Police Medal for Meritorious Service are ADGP Muneer Ahmad Khan-IPS, SSP Shahid Mehraj Rather, SSP Rajeshwar Singh, SSP Randeep Kumar, DySP Bodh Raj and DySP Mushtaq Ahmad Wani,” an official statement said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here