JKPM Committed To Gupkar Declaration; Seeks Restoration Of Articles 370, 35A

SRINAGAR: Members of the State Council of J&K Peoples Movement (JKPM) on Sunday had a meeting through zoom video conferencing under the chairmanship of Interim President Feroze Peerzada and discussed the current political situation in the state.

In a statement, a party spokesperson said that the State Council members unanimously reiterated that the unfortunate event of August 5, 2019, was an unconstitutional move and the abrogation of Articles 370 and 35A is illegal.

“The ultimate objective of the measures taken on August 5, 2019, was to disempower and disenfranchise the peace-loving people of J&K,” he said and added that the party being a signatory to the Gupkar Declaration reiterates its commitment to the principles laid down in the said declaration and resolved that the party shall together hand-in-hand with other joint signatory parties to the Gupkar Declaration fight for the rights of the people and strive for the restoration of special status and constitutional guarantees.

“The party is committed to the restoration of Articles 370 and 35A and any division of J&K is unacceptable to us,” he said.

The State Council unanimously confirmed the appointment of Feroze Peerzada as President of the party. The State Council also unanimously appointed Syed Iqbal Tahir as Senior Vice-President (Organisational Affairs) of the party.  Besides the State Council approved the appointment of Raja Mahmood as vice-president (political affairs),  Nazim Qazi as provincial president Jammu, Mir Azad as provincial president Kashmir, Rydham Singh as President Minority Affairs,  Iqbal Rather as Political Advisor to President and Senior Vice-President, Ayaz Hussain as state secretary, Shouket Malik as President OBC Wing & State Convenor, Jamil Ahmad as State Co-convenor, Khurshid Bismil as Coordinator Peer Panjal region and Iqbal Hussain Bhat as Chief Spokesperson. In addition, Javed Nillora, Raja Mehmood, Ayaz Hussain, Nazim Qazi, Khurshid Bismil and Mir Azad were appointed as spokespersons.

The State Council members recorded the contribution and services of former Chairman Javed Mustafa Mir and unanimously requested Javed Mustafa Mir to reconsider his resignation.

The State Council appointed district presidents namely Jamil Ahmed (Anantnag), Imdad Gazi (Srinagar), Amin Sofi (Ganderbal), Iqbal Rather(Bandipora) Rydham Singh (Poonch), Danish Bhat (Ramban). Also, the State Council approved the formation of an advisory body of senior and experienced members of the party to advise the state executive committee on the issue of vital importance. Khurshid Bismil shall be heading the advisory body.

Senior members of the party have reached out to some disgruntled members and the State Council hoped all differences will be sorted out soon. The State Council, however, expelled Umar Rather party worker from Srinagar for anti-party activities and issuing objectionable statements about party leadership over last many months despite repeated warnings.

The State Council Meeting was attended by members namely Feroze Peerzada, Syed Iqbal Tahir, Iqbal Rather, Amin Sofi, Imdad Gazi, Jamil Ahmed, Javed Wani Nillora, Murcyleen Peerzada and Dilbagh Singh from Kashmir division. From Jammu division, the meeting was attended by Raja Mehmood, Nazim Qazi, Rydham Singh, Ayaz Hussain, Shaukat Malik, Khurshid Bismil, Iqbal Hussain Bhat, and Prof Jameel Khan.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here