Kashmir legislature pays tributes to departed lawmakers


The Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly on Tuesday paid homage to late legislators at the first day of the Budget session 2018.

The Spokesman said Kavinder Gupta moved the obituary reference to pay homage to late Makhan Lal Fotedar, late Sheikh Mohammad Maqbool, late Sofi Ghulam Mohi-u-din, late Molvi Abdul Rashid, late Om Saraf, Late Shabir Ahmad Salaria, late Surinder Kumar Abrol and late Dr Naseer Ahmad Shah.

The Speaker threw light on the political and social life of the late legislators and recalled their contribution in shaping the political landscape and its development scenario as public representatives and while holding various constitutional posts.

Paying homage to the late leaders, Deputy Chief Minister, Dr Nirmal Singh said that they have left an indelible mark on the minds of the people and for their entire life contributed in strengthening the democratic traditions in Jammu and Kashmir.

Meanwhile, cutting across party lines, the members from both treasury and opposition benches recounted the services rendered by these leaders during their political career.

Mohammad Shafi Uri while paying tributes said that he has had opportunities to work with some of the members and has seen them work with utmost dedication and missionary zeal.

Nawang Rigzin Jora, while recalling the contribution of deceased leaders, said that they played a major role in uplifting the socio-economic status of the people.

Jora also paid homage to 19th Kushok Bakula Rinpoche on his 100th birth anniversary, saying that he was a sagacious leader, scholar

and perceptive social reformer who dedicated his life for welfare of the people with special focus on promoting education among youth. Jora requested the Speaker to hold half hour discussion to remember the contribution and social service of the great Architect of Modern Ladakh on the birth centenary year of Kushok Bakula.

M Y Tarigami urged members to learn from the contribution made by these leaders. He said that besides recalling the contribution of these leaders, their families and dependants should also be taken care of.

Hakim Mohammad Yaseen paid his tributes to the deceased leaders saying ‘we shall learn from their political career especially the approach towards working for the betterment of the society.’

Er Abdul Rashid, while paying tribute to the late members, urged everyone to adopt the virtues from the lives of these members and meliorate their life.

Satpaul Sharma recalled the efforts of the deceased members and said batted for giving impetus to the pro people efforts initiated by them. He said that welfare of common people was always the prime objective of these people.

Bashir Ahmad Dar also paid homage to the late legislators and said that their life was inspiration and a guiding vision for the present legislators to perform their duties with due diligence.

Meanwhile, Davinder Rana urged the Speaker to document the contribution of the deceased members of the house in shape of a book so that their work continues to inspire and guide the generations to come.Two minutes silence was also observed in the House as a respect to the deceased leaders.

Meanwhile, on the first day of budget session 2018-19, Chairman, Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council, Haji Anayat Ali moved the obituary reference in the House and highlighted the contribution of the legislators who passed away during the period from the last session and the present session.

The Chairman paid tributes to late parliamentarians Makhan Lal Fotedar, late Shabir Ahmad Salaria,   Sheikh Mohammad Maqbool, late Sofi Ghulam Mohi-ud-Din, late Molvi Abdul Rashid, late Om Prakash Saraf, late Surinder Kumar Abrol and Dr Syed Naseer Ahmad Shah.

The Chairman said that the services rendered by the late leaders will be always remembered.

Meanwhile, the Leader of the House, Naeem Akhtar, while paying tributes to the late legislators, said that they have rendered their services for the betterment and uplift of the society.

Paying respect to the late Makhan Lal Fotedar, leader of the House said that there is a need to follow the path shown by the great leader and social reformer. His honesty, simplicity and dedication towards his work needs special mention, he added.

Other Legislators who paid tributes to the late leaders include Sajad Ahmad Kichloo, Ghulam Nabi Monga, Surinder Mohan Ambardar, Saif-ud-Din Bhat, Sham Lal Bhagat, Showket Hussain Ganie, Ramesh Arora, Zafar Iqbal Manhas, Surinder Kumar Choudhary, Naresh Kumar Gupta, Khursheed Alam, Girdhari Lal Raina, Sofi Yousuf and Ajat Shatru Singh.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here