LS Polls: 18 candidates in fray for Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency


With no withdrawal of candidature on the date of withdrawal today, 18 candidates are going to contest for Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency (PC).

According to the Returning Officer, all 18 candidates whose nominations were cleared after the scrutiny have opted to stay in the fight as no withdrawal was made till the deadline.

The candidates in the fray are Hassnain Masoodi of Jammu Kashmir National Conference, Sofi Yousuf of Bhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir People’s Democratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, Ch. Zaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People’s Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shamas Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Gh Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Shiekh, Manzoor Ahmed Khan, Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh,  all independents.

Meanwhile, the election symbols were also allotted in favour of the Independent candidates.

The polling for the Anantnag PC will be held in three phases. In Anantnag district, the polling will be held on April 23, 2019, in Kulgam district on April 29 and in Pulwama and Shopian districts on May 6, 2019. The polling will be held from 7AM to 6 PM.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here