LS Polls: 14.2 percent voting recorded in Srinagar PC


The Srinagar district of Jammu and Kashmir recorded lowest voting percentage till 6:00 pm on Thursday, in Srinagar constituency, amid the second phase Lok Sabha polls in two constituencies of the state.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Shailendra Kumar addressing media persons here at Banquet Hall Srinagar.

Addressing media persons here at Banquet Hall, Srinagar, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO)  J&K, Shailendra Kumar said that the second phase of polling was recorded violence free. He informed that Udhampur Parliamentary constituency spread over 17 Assembly segments comprising six districts of Kishtwar, Doda, Ramban, Reasi, Udhampur and Kathua recorded an overall voter turnout of 70.2 per cent. Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency, spread over three districts of Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal with 15 Assembly segments, recorded an overall voter turnout of 14.2 per cent, he added.

The voter turnout was highest in central Kashmir’s district Budgam with 21.5 per cent. While as Udhampur recorded 74.8 per cent, followed by Kathua 74.0 per cent, Reasi at 72.7 per cent, Kishtwar 66.2 per cent, Doda, 64.1 percent, Ramban, 59.5 per cent, respectively, the CEO informed.

Pertinently the Srinagar PC is spread over 15 Assembly segments comprising three districts of Central Kashmir-Ganderbal, Srinagar and Budgam with 1,295,304 registered voters including 1,294,560 General voters and 744 service voters. Among the general voters, 667,252 were males and 627,282 female electors.

The authorities had set up 1716 polling stations across the Parliamentary constituency to facilitate the polling.

The Udhampur parliamentary seat has 16, 85,779 electors of which 1,665,467 are registered as general voters and 20,312 as service voters. Among the General voters, 876,319 are males and 789,105 females.

The authorities had set up 2710 polling stations across the Parliamentary constituency.

He said that there were 24 candidates in fray for twin constituencies, including 12 for Udhampur PC and 12 for Srinagar PC. He said the polling was held under the supervision of General Observers, Expenditure Observers and Police Observers, besides micro observers, while as the heavy deployment of staff was ensured across the polling stations in the two PCs on Poll day. The CEO informed that 25 all women polling stations and 149 model polling stations were established across the twin constituencies.

He further informed that nearly 1.5lakh first time voters also exercised their franchise.

The CEO informed that there would be slight changes in the overall figures as the final tallies are being made.

The CEO complimented voters, political parties, contesting candidates, polling staff and security forces for the smooth and peaceful conduct of polling in the state.

IGP Kashmir, SP Pani, Deputy Commissioner, Srinagar, Dr Shahid Iqbal Choudhary, SSP Srinagar, were also present at the press conference.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here