Mufti Starts his Second Inning

KL Report


Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) patron Mufti Muhammad Sayeed was sworn in as the new chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir, Sunday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Jammu.

79-year-old PDP patron will be heading a coalition government in the state for the second time. He was administered oath of office by Governor N N Vohra.

Earlier, Modi arrived in Jammu to attend the swearing-in ceremony at the General Zorawar Singh Auditorium of Jammu University.

BJP president Amit Shah, union ministers including Home Minister Rajnath Singh, senior BJP leaders L K Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi and chief ministers of neighbouring Haryana and Punjab had come to attend the ceremony.

Apart from chief minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, thirteen ministers from the PDP took oath from the governor. They include Ab Rahman Veri, Javed Mustafa Mir, Ab Haq Khan, Syed Basharat Bukhari, Chaudhary Zulfikar Ali, Dr Haseeb Drabu, Ghulam Nabi Lone, Mohammad Altaf Bukhari, Imran Ansari, Naeem Akhtar, Ab Majid Paddar, Mohammad Ashraf Mir and Aasia Naqash.

The BJP ministers who took their oath include Dr Nirmal Singh, Chandar Prakash, Lal Singh, Bali Baghat, Sukhnandan Kumar, Sajad Gani Lone, Sheiling Dhorje, Sunil Kumar Sharma, Ab Gani Kohli, Priya Sethi and Pawan Kumar Gupta.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here