NC, PDP Finalizes Names Of LC Candidates


KL Report

Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp



The Jammu and Kashmir National Conference today finalized the names of its candidates to be fielded for election to the vacant seats of State Legislative Council, sources told a local news agency, KNS.

“The two candidates that have been finalized for Kashmir are Showkat Ahmad Ganie from Wachi and Abdul Majid, who also hails from south Kashmir”, reliable sources said. They said the names were today finalized in a meeting which was attended by NC President Dr Farooq Abdullah, NC Working President Omar Abdullah and General Secretary Sheikh Nazir Ahmad.

They said the party has decided to field Jammu Provincial President Devender Singh Rana from Jammu province.

Meanwhile, PDP is believed to have zeroed in on names of party spokesperson Nayeem Akhter from Kashmir and Suresh Sharma from Jammu.

However, the Congress party is yet to finalize its names as the JKPCC president Saifuddin Soz is in Delhi for the final approval of names by High Command. “The nod from party high command is all set to come on Sunday evening and would be announced on Monday morning”.

It may be pertinent to recall that eight seats of the legislative council are set to become vacant in view of completion of the term of 8 members.

February 18 is the last date for filing of nominations by the candidates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here