Omar Presents Sher-i-Kashmir Best Sports Awards To 34 Players

KL Report


Chief Minister Omar Abdullah who is also President J&K Sports Council Tuesday presented Sher-i-Kashmir Sports Awards to 34 outstanding sports persons for their outstanding performance and winning of medals at the national and international levels from 2003-04 to 2009-10.

Those who received awards are Sonia Sharma-Gymnastic, Ishfaq Ahmad-Football, Arun Malhotra-Football, Kuldeep Handoo-Vushu, Harleen Singh-Gymnastic, Sonal Gupta-Gymnastic, Kamal Singh-Gymnastic, Kuldeep Kumar Gupta-Tug of War, Rashid Ahmad Choudhary-Fencing, Jonny Kumar-Football, Tashi Thinles-Skiing, Arif Mohammad Khan-Skiing, Seema Mehra-Gymnastic, Rita Devi-Handball, Sakina Bashir-Skiing, Amandeep Singh-Skiing, Bhanu Partap-Judo, Ujjwal Gupta-Fencing, Younus Nazir Kochey-Snooker, Raahil Farooq Shah-Skiing, Meraj-Ud-Din Wadoo-Football, Navjotsingh-Gymnastic, Palak Kour-Gymnastic, Mehjabeena Akhter-Skiing, Bilquis Mir-Kayaking & Canoeing, Tejpal Kour- Gymnastic, Manvinder Singh-Gymnastic, Manpreet Kour-Gymnastic, Mitali-Gymnastic, Mayank Jain-Gymnastic, Jaskaran Singh-Gymnastic, Shoiab Zahoor Mir-Skiing, Nippu Jamwal-Judo And Mohammad Ali-Tackwondo.

Each best sports person award carried citation, certificate, a medal and cash award of Rs 25,000.

Minister for Youth Welfare and Sports, Taj Mohi-ud-Din, Member Legislative Assembly, Ashok Khajuria, Vice Chancellor Jammu University, Director General Prisons, K Rajindra, Commissioner Secretary, Youth Welfare and Sports, Shaleen Kabra, Secretary J&K Sports Council, Delip Thusoo were present on the occasion among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here