Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp

Government on Thursday renamed Radio Stations in Jammu, Srinagar and Leh as All India Radio, Jammu; All India Radio, Srinagar; and All India Radio Leh, respectively.

Reports said that the identity announcements from these stations have been changed to “All India Radio”/”Akashvani” from “Radio Kashmir” with effect from Thursday.

Radio Kashmir was established on July 1, 1948, when Sheikh Abdullah, then the Prime Minister of Kashmir, inaugurated the Radio Kashmir Srinagar station near the Tourist Reception Centre in Srinagar. J.N. Zutshi was the first Director-General of Radio Kashmir. Radio Kashmir Srinagar became most popular when Pushkar Bhan’s Zoon Dab was aired for more than nineteen years from the Radio Kashmir station.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here