“Shafi Uri worked against Shariq”

KL Report


Around 20 Sarpanches owing allegiance to Congress Saturday rebutted the charges of working against the coalition candidate from Baramulla parliamentary constituency for the recently concluded elections to Lok Sabha, Mr. Sharief ud Din Shariq as leveled by National Conference leader and former minister Mr. Muhammad Shafi Uri.

In a statement issued to KNS, the Congress Sarpanches from Uri-Baramulla said that they have been working hard for making coalition successful but claimed that a majority of National Conference workers voted for People’s Democratic Party candidate Muzaffar Hussain Beigh. The Sarpanches accused Mr. Shafi of himself working against Shariq and said his son was conspicuous by his absence from a public meeting addressed by none other than the chief minister Omar Abdullah adding many NC workers were reported to be working as polling agents of PDP.

On the charge of their meeting Mr. Baig, the Sarpanches said though they met Baig, had tea with him but told him categorically that they are bound by party directive to support Mr. Shariq. This they alleged was in contrast to a NC leader and former MLC from Uri who was openly telling his supporters to vote for Baig.

The signatories to the statement hoped that despite the local NC workers working against their own party nominee, Mr. Shariq would get lead from Uri due to the votes polled in his favour by Congress workers and supporters.

The signatories to the statement include Block President, Uri, Haji Assadullah Lone, Block President, Boniyar, Mr. Hamid ur Rehman, Sarpanch Manzoor Ahmad Naikoo from halqa Zehanpura, Sarpanch Rouf Khan from halqa Ijara, Sarpanch Irshad khan from halqa Pehlipora A and Sarpanch Farooq Ahmad from halqa Pehlipora B, Sarpanch Ghulam Qadir from halqa Limber B, Sarpanch Ghulam Muhammad Raja from halqa Bimyar, Sarpanch Ghulam Rasool from halqa Nowshehra A, Sarpanch Sheikh Nazir from, Sarpanch Rashid Sood from halqa Barnate, Sarpanch Shahid ahmad from halqa Trikanjan, Sarpanch Bashir Ahmad from halqa Boniyar, Sarpanch Gulab Din from halqa Zamboorpattan, Sarpanch Ahmad Khan from halqa Choola, Sarpanch Ishtyaq Ahmad from halqa Salamabad, Sarpanch Shabir Ahmad Mir from halqa Jabla, Sarpanch M. Arif from halqa Dachi, Sarpanch Nazir Khan from halqa Shadra, Sarpanch Ali Akbar Khan from halqa Nawarunda, Sarpanch Rashid Chichi from halqa Mayian and Sarpanch Maqbool Raja from halqa Mohura.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here