376 polling parties dispatched for various polling stations in Kishtwar: DEO


As many as 376 polling parties along with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), Voters Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) and other election material have been dispatched for the conduct of polls in two Assembly segments of District Kishtwar (51-Kishtwar and 52-Inderwal) which is going to polls on 18th of April.

Poll parties dispatched in Kathua

The spokesman said that District Election Officer (DEO), Kishtwar, Angrez Singh Rana informed that out of 376 polling parties,  177 have been sent to Kishtwar and 199  to Inderwal. In far-flung areas like Marwah and Warwan, the polling parties were dispatched through heli service well in advance. In addition to this, 26 Engineers of ECIL were also dispatched at different locations for smooth conduct of parliamentary elections in these areas.

The teams were imparted with the necessary training for operating the EVMs/VVPATs and another electoral process before they left for their respective polling stations.

Meanwhile, in order to ensure smooth conduct of polling in the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in district Kathua, polling parties for five assembly segments of Kathua were dispatched today.

Bani, Basohli, Kathua, Billawar and Hiranagar segments are part of Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency which is going to polls on 18 April, the spokesman said.

A total of 709 polling parties, including reserve staff, under the supervision of District Election Officer, Vikas Kundal were dispatched to their respective polling stations along with EVMs and VVPATs. The district administration had made adequate arrangements for polling parties. The DEO informed that all the polling parties were dispatched in a GPS fitted vehicle which can be monitored from the control room.

Of the total 709 polling stations in the district, 15 have been identified as hypersensitive, 300 as sensitive and 394 as normal, Kundal informed and stated that 25 polling stations were established as model polling stations in Kathua whereas, 4 polling stations were established to facilitate female electors.

ACR Kathua, Devinder Paul, all AROs of respective assembly constituencies, Nodal Officer for EVM/VVPAT, Sanjeev Rai Gupta and other concerned officers were present on the occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here