KL Report


Four ministers of the Congress-NC coalition government, 16 former ministers and sitting legislators are among the 175 candidates, who are in the fray for 18 Assembly constituencies going to polls in the second phase on December 2 in Jammu and Kashmir.

On the last day of withdrawal of the nominations for the second phase of Assembly elections in J&K, for which polling is scheduled to be held on December 2, 175 candidates are in fray for the 18 constituencies in the five districts of Kupwara, Kulgam, Reasi, Udhampur and Poonch, official sources said.

Among the ministers from the Omar Abdullah government is Ajaz Khan of Congress contesting from Gool Arnas followed by Mir Saifullah (NC) from Kupawara Assembly Constituency, Choudhary Mohammad Ramzan (NC) from Handwara and Sakina Itoo (NC) from Noorabad seat.

Apart from these, there are 18 sitting MLAs and MLCs and former ministers including Aijaz Jan, Javed Rana (MLC), Kafil Ur Rehman, (all NC), Krishen Chander and Amin Bhat (MLC) (all INC), Gaffar Sofi (MLA & Former Minister) Sartaj Mandi (Dy Speaker), Abdul Haq Khan (both PDP), Balwant Mankotia and Harsh Dev Singh (MLA & Former Minister), Baldev Raj Sharma and Abdul Rahseed (noth Independents), M Y Tarigami (CPIM).

Besides, former ministers Ghulam Mohideen Sofi (PDP), Syed Mushtaq Bukhari (NC), Abdul Gani Malik (MLA) and Jagjiwan Lal (NC) and Jugal Kishore (MLC) of Congress.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here