85 Candidates In Ground For 3rd LAHDC Election

KL Report


The 3rd Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council Kargil 2013 is scheduled on 22nd of August 2013.

Kargil with an Area of 14,036 Sq Km with a population of 1, 45,000, is separated in 129 villages and 9 blocks.

Kargil is a land of 8 ethnic communities, and these were declared as Schedule Tribe by a notification issued by Government of India in the year 1989 these are, Boto, Balti, Mon, Beda, Changpa, Brogpa, Purigpa and Garra.

The administration in Kargil is governed by Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development council (LAHDC) through Deputy Commissioner, Kargil who is also Chief Executive Officer of the Council.

The employees of all departments excluding Judiciary and Police are on deputation to LAHDC, Kargil.

Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Kargil came into existence in August, 2003 in pursuance to LAHDC Act 1995, which comprises of 26 elected members and 4 nominated members headed by Chairman/Chief Executive Councilor who is elected by the Councilors.

The day to day functions including formulation and implementation of District Plan and various Centrally Sponsored Schemes comes under its purview. The usual term of the council is five years. The 3rd General Council Election, have been notified by the Government in Ladakh Affairs Department, Srinagar by notification SRO No. 326 dated 15.07.2013.

The 3rd General Election to LAHDC Kargil has been notified under SRO 326 dated 15th July, 2013 issued vide Ladakh Affairs Department notification dated 15th July, 2013.

For monitoring all the election process of the 3rd LAHDC Election the Deputy Commissioner Kargil has been appointed as the Election Authority by the Ladakh Affairs Notification dated 19-06-2013, in pursuance of Rules 5 of LAHDC Election Rules 1995 and under same notification the Additional Deputy Commissioner Kargil has been appointed as Election Officer.

For the smooth exercise of the franchise during the election 257 Polling Stations have been identified and 13 Polling Stations have been set up exclusively for Male voters and 13 for Female voters.

Shaday Polling Station is the Highest Poling Station with an altitude of 13,850 ft. and Hundarman Mal is the Lowest Polling Station with an altitude of 8,800ft.

Akchamal Polling station of Poyen Constituency is the polling station with highest number of Voters (1056 Voters and Phema Polling Station of Karsha Constituency is the polling station with lowest number of Voters (17 Voters). Five polling stations will require helicopter service for transportation of Men and Materail to conduct the elections.

On the report of security agencies and After analyzing security perceptions, the 67 Polling Stations have been categorized as Hyper Sensitive, 85 Polling Stations as Sensitive and 105 Polling Stations as Normal Polling Station as per following details.

Over 20,000 residual electors are likely to get EPICs before Poll date i.e. 30.08.2008 and the electors without EPIC are required to show any Photo Identity Card like driving license, gun license, Photo Card issued by any Security Agency, School/College Identity card, Bank Pass Book with Photograph, any saving certificate, copy of PRC or Caste Certificate etc.

During the period of filing of nominations from 27/07/2013 to 03/08/2013, 180 nomination papers were received by various Returning Officers. After scrutiny on 04/08/2013, 02 nomination papers were rejected by Returning Officers and 178 candidates remained in the field, out of which 95 validly nominated candidates had withdrawn from the Contest on 5th and 6th August, 2013.

2 Candidates were declared elected un-opposed Aga Syed Hassan  from Saliskote Constituency and  Mohammad Amir of Stakchay Khangral Constituency were declared unopposed and after all these process 85 eligible candidates from 24 constituency will contest for the 3rd General elections of LAHDC Kargil. Two Candidate elected uncontested for the 3rd LAHDC Election. Out of 85, 12 candidates are of BJP, 17 is of INC, 12 Candidates are of NC, 8 candidates are of PDP and 36 candidates will contest as independent.

The Whole Process will complete on 2nd of September with the formation of New LAHDC Kargil Body with the newly elected Councilors.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here