All separatists set free, Except Geelani


KL Report

Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp


Authorities on Saturday released all the separatists who were detained either in their houses or police stations a day before PM Modi’s visit. However, Hurriyat Conference (G) chairman, Syed Ali Geelani’s detention is going on.

Geelani is undergoing house arrest since March 16 this year after he returned from New Delhi. Geelani was later shifted for New Delhi for treatment for few days and when he returned on April 8, he was again put under house arrest.

Hurriyat (M) Chairman Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, who was also put under house arrest on July 3 in his Nigeen house has also been released, sources said. He added that other Hurriyat leaders were also released, including Zaffar Akbar Bhat and others.

According to sources Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) chairman Mohammad Yasin Malik, who was taken into preventive custody from his Maisuma house was also released.

Democratic Freedom Party (DFP) Shabir Ahmad Shah and National Front chairman Nayeem Ahmad Khan were also released. Both the Hurriyat (JK) leaders were put under house arrest on July 3.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here