Hurriyat Conference (g) Protest on May 12, 2016

After J&K PDP-BJP coalition government Thursday banned All parties Hurriyat Conference (g) seminar, its chairperson termed it “as the worst kind of state terrorism”.

Syed Ali Geelani said, “Ms Mehbooba Mufti and her other colleagues seems to have taken a Ganga Bath because they are acting like pawns for the implementation of RSS agenda in Jammu & Kashmir.”

He cautioned that the policies of banning of the peaceful political activities will have “serious consequences and a sharp reaction will come to fore if this hooliganism of police continues”.

In a statement issued to press this evening, Hurriyat Conference (g) spokesperson informed, “Hurriyat Conference had made a program to organize a daylong seminar on 12 May Thursday in which the speakers were expected to present their point of view over the topic: Present Situations and Our Responsibilities. It was an academic type of function which was going to be held within the closed doors.

“The said seminar would have neither influenced the law and order situations nor the traffic system but the police follow different policies and they cordoned off the entire area and the Tehreek-e-Hurriyat Head Office at Hyderpora on Thursday morning and restricted the movement of the people. A heavy deployment of police personnel was made on the airport road and they were barring every person from moving towards the Tehreek-e-Hurriyat office,” the spokesperson said.

“The Hurriyat leaders and activists who had come to attend the proposed seminar when saw the situation at the seminar venue, they sat on peaceful protest demonstration on the airport road. But the police used excessive force against them and injured dozens of activists there while as many others were arrested and detained in the police station. The Hurriyat Conference leaders who had come to attend the seminar and who participated in the protest demonstration include Haji Ghulam Nabi Sumji (deputy secretary general), Nayeem Ahmad Khan (Provincial President), Altaf Ahmad Shah (Chief Organizer), Mohammad Abdullah Tari, Peer Saifullah(Personal Secretary to Chairman), Raja Mehraj-ud-din (District President Srinagar and Ganderbal), Mohammad Shafi Lone, Mohammad Yousuf Mujahid, Khan Sopori, Abdul Hameed Magray, Mohammad Yaseen Attai, Syed Imtiyaz Hyder, Shakeel Ahmad Bhat, Sayed Zahoor-ul-Haq Geelani and Sayed Hafizullah. The leaders and activists who were arrested on the occasion include Peer Saifullah, Mohammad Abdullah Tari, Khan Sopori, Mohammad Yousuf Mujahid, Abdul Hameed Magray, Mohammad Yaseen Attai, Syed Imtiyaz Hyder, Shakeel Ahmad Bhat, Abdul Salaam Lone, Peer Hafizullah, Mohammad Ramzan, Mohammad Rafiq Wani, Peer Ghulam Mohi-ud-din, Abdul Salaam Dar, Sayed Zahoor-ul-Haq Geelani and Sayed Hafizullah.”

While condemning in strong words the police actions, Hurriyat Conference (g) spokesperson said, “the new phase of the BJP-PDP coalition government had toughened its policies regarding the pro-freedom people and they are not given any space to perform the political activities.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here