Bye-polls: Nominations of 9 candidates found valid for Srinagar Constituency

Srinagar: On the day of scrutiny of nomination papers for Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency, nominations of 9 candidates were found valid by Returning Officer for the Srinagar Parliamentary seat.

The nomination papers of Farooq Abdullah of J&K National Conference, Nazir Ahmad Khan of J&K Peoples Democratic Party, Bikram Singh of J&K Liberal Democratic Party, Chetan Sharma of Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha  and Sajad Reshi of Rashtriya Samajwadi Party (Secular) have been found valid.

While the independent candidates who filed nominations for Srinagar Constituency and whose papers were found valid are Mirza sajad Hussain Beigh, Ghulam Hassan Dar, Farooq Ahmad Dar and Mehraj Khurshid Malik.

The nominations of two independent candidates Reyaz Ahmad Batana and Ghulam Mohi-ud-Din Wani were found not in order as per the provisions of Representation of the People Act, 1951 and were rejected.

Pertinent to mention, last date for withdrawal of nominations has been fixed as March 24, 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here