Coronavirus: Seven villages declared red zones in south Kashmir


Invoking prohibitory orders under Section 144 of the CrPC, Disaster Management Act and The Epidemic Disease Act, District Magistrate Pulwama said that there would be no inward and outward movement of any person from the villages declared red zones and the people would stay in their homes to ensure complete lockdown.

In this regard District Magistrate today issued an order according to which Khaigam, Sangerwani,  Abhama villages of tehsil Rajpora and Gudoora, Chandgam, Pinglena and Parigam of tehsil Pulwama fall in red zone category while adjoining villages of these tehsils have been declared buffer zones, for the of safety and well being of the general public.

According to an order issued by the District Magistrate, a person hailing from District who attended a religious congregation at Gudura has tested positive for COVID-19, has moved to various villages including his native village Khaigam.

The order further reads that there would be no vehicular movement on the Pulwama-Chakoora,Newa – Parigam and Pulwama – Keller road.

The District officials said, “the area has become more vulnerable as far as further transmission of the COVID-19 virus is concerned. It is necessary to break the further transmission of the disease in the area and it becomes imperative to take stringent precautionary measures like declaring concerned villages as red zones and other villages of tehsil Pulwama and Tehsil Rajpora as a buffer zone,”.

DM directed the officials concerned to ensure supply of essential commodities as per laid down protocols in the villages covering both local residents and outside labourers and warned of stern action against anyone who tries to violate orders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here