Crisis In Congress: Azad Resigns As Head of Poll Campaign Committee, Rashid Dar from Party

SRINAGAR: Within hours after being appointed as the head of the campaign committee a part of the party rejigs, Ghulam Nabi Azad is reported to have resigned from this position. Though it is unclear why he did it but reports attribute it to not being taken on board while making Vikar Rasool the new PCC Chief.

Senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, JKPCC President G A Mir and EX MLA Abdul Rashid Dar during public outreach programme in Kashmir

In another development, former MLA Sopore Abdul Rashid Dar resigns from the basic membership of AICC. The reasons were not immediately known. However, one report quoted him saying that his resignation from the party was against the appointment of a junior as PCC Chief.

Congress on Tuesday appointed Vikar Rasool Wani, a former lawmaker from Banihal, as the new PCC Chief.  Raman Bhalla is the Working President. Besides, the party appointed a campaign committee and political committee, both headed by Azad. Wani is considered to be a close aide of Azad.

Congress sources confirmed the developments. “It is up to Azad sahab to give the details but the fact is that he has resigned,” one Congress leader said. “The fact is that these committees are nothing. The real authority is in the PCC Chief and that is all.” He said he has also heard about Rashid Dar’s resignation but does not know the details.

It is interesting that Vikar was reportedly a member of the pro-Azad faction but the top leader was, off late supportive of Saroori as the JKPCC Chief. There were four people in the fray – Vikar, Saroori, Pirzada M Sayeed and Ghulam Nabi Monga. Finally, the party appointed Vikar.

Interestingly only the JKPCC Chief and the Working President will be the permanent invitee to the AICC.

Yet another report said that former MLA Devsar, Mohammad Amin Bhat has also put in his papers as member of the Coordination Committee.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here