Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp


Newly Elected Councilor's of LAHDC Kargil, Photo (KL file Image: Murtaza Ali)
Oath taking ceremony of LAHDC Kargil in this KL file Image by Murtaza Ali.

Three Congress legislators have reportedly withdrawn support from the recently elected body of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Kargil.

On September 17, Congress had supported the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in winning the elections for Chief Executive Councillor (CEC) of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Kargil, dissolving the NC led council.

Kachoo Ahmed Ali Khan, Councillor from Baltak Constituency who had recently joined PDP, was elected as the new CEC of the Council with the support of 14 Congress councillors and one Independent councillor.

However, reports said that on Monday three Congress councillors – Zakir Hussain from Shakar Constituency, Liyaqat Ali from Poyen and Skalzang wangyal from Padum constituency – withdrew their support, triggering fresh crisis in the council.

“The new crisis erupted due to a tussle over the berth of Executive councillor in Kargil,” reports noted. The councillors said the party has been “fractured”.

On Sunday, the Congress had announced a list of four Executive councillors among which three were Independent candidates while one was from Congress.

“The party is facing Hitlerism and we have withdrawn support for the sake of Congress,” said a councillor.

The general council meeting scheduled for today was suspended in the wake of the “revolt” by the councillors.

On the other hand, people are facing trouble as the annual budget plan meeting for 2016-17 is yet to be held, reports added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here