Dilbag Singh Takes Over As New JK Police Chief


Dilbag Singh, IPS on Friday took over as new Director General of Police Jammu and Kashmir day after his predecessor S P Vaid was transferred and posted as Transport Commissioner Thursday night.

Dilbag Singh Takes Over As New JK Police Chief.

Singh, a 1987-batch IPS officer from the state, took over as the new police chief at a simple ceremony. He continues to hold the charge of Director-General (Prisons).

Singh has served the State in various capacities in filed and at staff levels, is a very decorated officer. He has served as ASP headquarter Kupwara, Addl. SP Doda, SP Traffic NHW, SP Doda, SP Vigilance, SP Baramulla, Commandant JKAP 7th battalion, ADIG Anantnag, ADIG Baramulla, DIG Security J&K, DIG Jammu, Director SSG J&K IGP Crime & Railways, IGP CID, IGP Traffic, IGP Homeguard/ Civil Defence, IGP Armed, Director SK Police Academy Udhampur, IGP Jammu Zone, MD Police Housing Corporation, ADGP Security, Commandant General Home guard/ CD and DG Prisons with additional charge of  Fire and Emergency Services.

Vaid, a 1986-batch IPS officer, was unceremoniously removed as Police chief late last night.

Vaid has been shifted as Transport Commissioner, a post which was held by Saugat Biswas, a 2006-IAS officer. The post has been upgraded from Additional Secretary to the rank of Secretary. It will be headquartered in Jammu.

The police spokesman in a statement said that immediately after taking over as the Director General of Police Dilbag Singh chaired a high-level meeting of Police Officers. In the meeting, he impressed upon the officers to continue with their work for the restoration of peace in the State. He said that the J&K Police has seen many challenges in the past and will sail through the present challenges as well.

He directed the officers to look after the welfare and other needs of their subordinates particularly the constabulary. He assured them that as the leader of the organisation he will always be behind his jawans and officers.

“On his arrival, the DGP was received by senior police officers and was presented a guard of honour. Those who were present on the occasion included Dr B. Srinivas, ADGP CID, J&K, A.K Choudhary, ADGP (Armed) J&K, Director Vigilance S. J. M. Gillani J&K, Munir Ahmed Khan, ADGP (Security/Law & Order/HG), J&K, Jagjit Kumar, IGP (Tech.), J&K, Shafkat Watali, IGP (Armed) Kashmir, J.P Singh, IGP (Pers.) PHQ, Alok Kumar, IGP Security, J&K, S. Ahfadul  Mujtaba, IGP Crime, J&K, Ashkoor Ahmed Wani, IGP (CIV), PHQ,   S.P Pani, IGP Kashmir, Naseer Ahmad, Director Telecom, J&K and all AIG of PHQ, Srinagar based Commandants of Armed Battalions and officers of Prosecution wing PHQ,” said police spokesman.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here