KL Report

Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp


The Director General of Prisons, J&K K. Rajendra Kumar, awarded the Director General’s Prison Medal to 10 Officers of the J&K Prisons Department on the eve of Republic Day 2014 in recognition of their Meritorious and Exemplary Services.

The Director General’s Prison Medal has been awarded this year for the first time to the Prison personnel in the history of the J&K Prisons Department.

The Award was instituted by the Government of Jammu and Kashmir in order to establish an in-built system of recognising outstanding service rendered by the Prison personnel and to boost the morale of the Prison personnel who are discharging highly onerous duty. Ten Commendation Medals would be awarded every year on the eve of Republic Day to the Prison personnel.

The awardees include three Prison Officers- Saroop Chand, Dy. Superintendent, Abdul Razzak Malla, Assistant Superintendent and Abdul Samad Bhat, Assistant Superintendent; three Head Warders- Muhammad Afzal Khan, Naresh Kumar Sharma, Kuldeep Kumar besides Charanjeet Singh, SG Warder, Muhammad Khan, Warder, Mst Shaheena Akhtar, Warder and. Sanjay Kumar, follower.

While congratulating the awardees the Director General of Prisons expressed the hope that they would continue to work with the same zeal and enthusiasm in future also. (CNS)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here