KL Report

Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp


As the five-phased legislative assembly elections are nearing, the Election Commission of India Friday issues notification for the second phase in Jammu and Kashmir for 18 constituencies going to polls on December 2.

“As recommended by ECI in pursuance of Sub-section (2) of Section 27 of the said Act, the Governor of the state of Jammu and Kashmir is hereby pleased to call upon the 18 Assembly constituencies in the state, to elect members to the Legislative Assembly in accordance with the provision of Act,” state’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Umang Narula said in the notification.

As already reported, nine assembly segments each are going to polls in the second phase in both Jammu and Kashmir regions of the state. They are spread over five districts of Kupwara, Kulgam, Reasi, Udhampur and Poonch.

“The electorate in the constituencies of Gulabgarh, Reasi, Gool Arnas, Udhampur, Chenani, Ramnagar, Surankote, Mendhar and Poonch Haveli in Jammu region and Karnah, Kupwara, Lolab, Handwara, Langate, Noorabad, Kulgam, Home-Shalibugh and Devsar in Kashmir Valley will vote on December 2,” the already issued schedule read.

The statement further said that the last date for filing nominations is November 14. “The scrutiny of nomination papers would be held on November 15 while the last date for withdrawal of nomination is on November 17,” the notification said.

The counting of votes and results thereof for all five phases has been fixed for December 23.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here