KL Report


Eight new faces of PDP and BJP will be administered oath as Members of Legislative Council on Friday by the chairman Legislative Council as the governor NN Vohra on Thursday issued notification for the same.

Talking to KNS, Mohammad Ashraf Mir secretary law said that eight persons will take oath as members of legislative council on Friday as the Raj Bhavan has cleared their names. “At 10.30 in the morning on Friday, the oath ceremony will be held in the Assembly secretariat Jammu,” Mir said.

Earlier, Raj Bhavan had sought information about antecedents of eight persons nominated by PDP-BJP coalition government for filing eight vacant seats under the nomination quota in J&K Legislative Council.

The coalition partners had approved four names each from their party sides for filing eight seats in the House.

While PDP had reportedly recommended former trade union leader Khursheed Alam, Saif-ud-Din Bhat, Zaffar Iqbal Manhas and Vakramadatya Singh, the right wing party had approved names of former MLA Ashok Khajuria, Rameash Arora, AjatShatru Singh and SurinderAmbardar.

Under Section 50 (Sub section 6) of J&K Constitution eight members shall be nominated by the Governor out of whom not more than three members shall be persons belonging to any socially or economically backward classes in the state.

The remaining five as per the constitution shall be persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of matters such as literature, science, art, cooperative movement and social service.

At present 10 seats are vacant in the 36-member House including two seats to be filled by Urban Local Bodies.

The ruling combine is in the minority in the House as the opposition National Conference and Congress has 15 members in the Council out of total 26 members in position.

Last month the PDP-BJP combine won nine out of 11 seats that went to election.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here