Elections to Upper House; Naeem, Ganie, Majeed, Parrey, Naresh Declared Elected

KL Report


According to Returning Officer for Election to the Members of the Legislative Council; Syed Naeem Akhtar Andrabi of Peoples Democratic Party, Showkat Hussain Ganie and Abdul Majeed of National Conference and Mohammad Muzaffar Parrey of Indian National Congress were Thursday declared elected for Biennial Election to the Legislative Council of Jammu and Kashmir by the Members of the Legislative Assembly from Kashmir Division while as Naresh Kumar Gupta of Indian National Congress from Doda district.

According to the Returning Officer, after first round Syed Naeem Akhtar Andrabi secured 19 votes, Showkat Hussain Ganie 17,  Shuban Krishen Dudha 9 votes,  Abdul Majeed Bhat 16 and Mr. Mohammad Muzaffar Parrey 17 votes.

“As such, Syed Naeem Akhtar Andrabi, Showkat Hussain Ganie and Mr. Abdul Majeed and Mr. Mohammad Muzaffar Parrey succeeded in getting required quota to be declared as elected to the Legislative Council,” said the returning officer in a statement.

“Similarly, Naresh Kumar Gupta secured 50 votes and he was also declared elected,” he added.

Pertinently, candidates to three seats of Jammu were already declared unopposed.   They include Devinder Singh Rana of NC, Rani Gargi Bloeria of INC and  Yashpal Sharma of PDP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here