Gallantry awards for three army men for killing Burhan

KL News Network


Burhan Wani

Three army men of a Rashtriya Rifles unit were Thursday awarded Sena Medal for killing popular militant commander Burhan Wani on July 8, 2016, reports said.

Burhan’s killings plunged valley into a welter of protests that lasted for months.

Major Kumar, Captain Manik Sharma and Naik Arvind Singh Chauhan were part of the team which killed Burhan and two other militants in Bemdoora village of Islamabad on July 8, 2016.

Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani, the poster boy of resurgent militancy in the Kashmir valley was carrying a bounty of Rs 10 lakh on his head.

Kashmir valley witnessed a mass uprising which lasted for months. More than 90 civilians were killed in force’s actions while thousands were maimed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here