HPC clears 28 Degree Colleges for operationalization


The High-Powered Committee headed by Principal Secretary Finance, Navin K Choudhary has approved 28 New Degree Colleges for operationalization in the Phase-I.

Pertinently, the State Administrative Council (SAC) headed by Governor Satya Pal Malik in its meeting held on 5 September 2018 had approved the opening of 40 new Degree Colleges in the State including operationalizing 26 already sanctioned Degree Colleges.

The 28 New Degree Colleges approved by the High-Powered Committee for operationalization include Verinag in district Anantnag, Ajas and Hajin in district Bandipora, Thindim Kreeri in district Baramulla, Chadoora in District Budgam, Marh, Kungwani/Sainik Colony and Nagrota in district Jammu, Drass in district Kargil, Paddar in district Kishtwar, Qazigund and  Frisal (Homshalibugh) in district Kulgam, Vilgam in district Kupwara, Khaltsi in district Leh, Mandi in district Poonch, Awantipora and Rajpora in district Pulwama, Dongi/Chatyar/Kallar in district Rajouri, Batote in district Ramban, Pouni and Kakryal/Katra in district Reasi, Vijapur, Ramgarh and Purmandal in district Samba, Zainapora (Wachi) in district Shopian, Hyderpora and Aloochibagh in district Srinagar and Chennai in district Udhampur.

The High-Powered Committee decided that the actual location of the College will be subject to the availability of free State land. It was further decided that the Finance Department shall release Rs 1 crore each for kick-starting the construction work of these new Degree Colleges.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here