Indian Railways to resume passenger train service from May 12


Indian Railways plans to gradually restart passenger train operations from May 12. Initially, 15 pairs of trains will run, the railway ministry said on Sunday. These trains will be run as special trains from New Delhi station connecting Dibrugarh, Agartala, Howrah, Patna, Bilaspur, Ranchi, Bhubaneswar, Secunderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram, Madgaon, Mumbai Central, Ahmedabad and Jammu Tawi, said the reports.

Thereafter, Indian Railways will start more special services on new routes, based on the available coaches after reserving 20,000 coaches for COVID-19 care centres and an adequate number of coaches being reserved to enable operation of up to 300 trains every day as Shramik Special for stranded migrants, it said.

Booking for reservation in these trains will start at 4 pm on May 11 (Monday) and will be available only on the IRCTC website. Ticket booking counters at the railway stations shall remain closed and no counter tickets (including platform tickets) shall be issued, reported The Times Of India.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here