J&K State Sports Council Re Constituted; CM To Be The President, Taj To Be Vice President

KL Report


The J&K State Sports Council has been re constituted. Orders to this effect were issued by the Technical Education Department following approval by the Chief Minister, Omar Abdullah who is also President of the Council.

As per a statement the Council comprises Chief Minister as the President and Minister for Medical Education, Youth Services & Sports as Vice President. The official members of the Council are Administrative Secretaries of Finance, Planning & Development Department, Youth Services and Sports Departments. Dileep Thusu would be member secretary of the Council.

In Kashmir province, President, J&K Football Association, Zameer Thakur, Joint Secretary, J&K Badminton Association Fayaz Ahmad, Former Director General YSS and Veteran Golfer, Nazir Ahmad Khan, President J&K Water Skiing Association, Usman Majid, Kayaking and Canoeing player, Bilquis Mir, senior vice President JKFA, Prof BA Shah, President J&K Kayaking and Canoeing Association, Dr Sheikh Mustafa Kamal, Editor-in Chief, Greater and Kashmir (sports Journalists), Fayaz Ahmad Kaloo, prominent cricketer, Parvez Rasool and Hockey player, JB Singh Bali were chosen as members.

In Jammu province, chairman, Media Committee JKCA, Ranjit Kalra, outstanding Sportsperson in Fencing (Medalist at National and International Level), Rashid Ahmad Chowdhary, Sports Medicine Specialists and General Secretary ABA, Dr Nirmalok Singh, President, J&K Olympic Association, S Rangil Singh, sports journalist, Vijay Gupta, General Secretary, J&K Mountaineering Association Ram Khajuria, footballer, Narinder Gupta, retired Physical Educationalist from Jammu University, Dr Brij Biloria, Wrestler, Dushyant Sharma, President J&K Billiards and Snooker Association, Siddarth Sharma and General Secretary Wushu Association, Kuldeep Handoo were nominated  as members.

In Ladakh region, Mount Everest Hero and Padma Shri, Sonam Wangyal and Assistant Director Sports, Sonam Angchuk were nominated as members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here