Jammu Press Club Gets New Office-Bearers

SRINAGAR: The Sanjeev Pargal team won all eleven seats of the Jammu Press Club in the elections held on Friday.

Members pose for a photograph after being elected after holding the election for various positions of the Press Club Jammu on Friday, April 08, 2022.

Defeating Surinder Sharma by a margin of 314 votes, Bureau Chief Daily Excelsior Sanjeev Pargal became the new president of the club. As many as 405 votes were polled for Pargal against 91 votes for Sharma.

For the post of vice-president, 349 votes were polled for Zorawar Singh Jamwal, who beat Ravinder Singh, by a difference of 317 votes.

Dinesh Manhotra secured 396 votes to be elected as Secretary General. Sumit Sharma, contesting for the same post, took 94 votes.

Dinesh Manhotra trounced Rakesh Gupta by 302 votes to clinch the post of secretary general.

Channi Anand was elected Treasure of the Press Club after beating Sudhir Kumar by 296 votes.

Seven Members, who were elected to the Managing Committee include Nishikant Khajuria of Daily Excelsior (393 votes), Dinesh Mahajan of Dainik Jagran (386), Ajay Meenia of Amar Ujjala (355), Govind Chouhan (333), Deepak Khajuria (332), Vishal Bharti of UNI (323) and Kunal Shrivatas (309).

Elections of the Jammu Press Club were held on Friday after a long gap of seven years.

Polling began at 10 am while the counting of votes was held from 5 pm onwards.

A total of 591 voters  were eligible for the voting while 504 cast their votes.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here